Web Hosting

Default Mambo vs Joomla?

I have been experimenting with Mambo and am planning to convert at least one of my sites to Mambo. But I have also been reading about the Mambo/Joomla split and I'm wondering if anyone here has opinions about which platform is preferable. I'd really rather make this decision now and not have to convert later if one platform seems to have a better future than the other. Thanks!

I'm no pro at either Joomla or Mambo... But, I had better success with Joomla.

There is very little difference now, but Joomla seemed to work 'better' than mambo.

Wink

Well after starting out on Mambo, and now a dedicated Joomla user ( all my sites are in joomla), you'd be silly to stay with mambo.

I had an experience not so long ago, someone was running a script on a mambo site that was hacked and affected all sites from the host running mambo / joomla / php nuke, well i had one site on mambo still but by the time the host realised it was a mambo site being hacked, joomla sites went back up, but alas the mambo site stayed down for a further 3 hours.

The difference with Joomla though is thats where the core programmers are these days, mambo is basically dead in the water, and most projects being done these days are for Joomla.

The security, features, ease of use with Joomla is far better in my opinion than Mambo.

Needless to say i don't have any sites these days on Mambo, nor will i go back to Mambo....

Call me a Joomla convertee.

But all this is only my opinion.

Merry Xmas..
    Geoff

I started with Mambo a long time ago, but now all y sites are inJoomla. Especially because Miro doesn't seem to offer the core developers any thing to say, so they left Mambo for what it is and created Joomla. In my opinion you should move to Joomla, it's relly free and the developers are really really great

Scubaman

Exclamation Can I convert to Joomla and not break Fantastico?