Web Hosting
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    9

    Question Is anyone running SilverStripe?

    Hi,

    I was just wondering if anyone has got SilverStripe CMS ( www.silverstripe.com ) running on their siteground account?

    I have tried to install it but get mod_rewrite errors which is a bit wierd as my Joomla site is using mod_rewrite just fine.

    I have done a little googling and it may just be a problem in the latest release, but if anyone has tried it or is using it I would love to hear your experiences.

    Cheers,

    David

    www.robotification.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Orihuela Costa, Spain
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Hi David

    Just a thought. Have you tried "rewinding" back to an earlier version of PHP on your server. I dont know much about the Silverstripe software/cms but it may not be compatible with the latest php version.

    Regards

    Costa

  3. #3

    Default

    Hello David,

    The SilverStripe requirements page at:

    http://doc.silverstripe.com/doku.php...r-requirements

    does not mention anything specific in terms of environment configuration, so the errors are probably caused by a conflict with other rewrite rules and conditions you may have on your account. To eliminate this as a reason, I would suggest you to create a subdomain and make its document root folder outside of public_html. Then install SilverStripe there. If the same problem persists, you can submit a ticket in the Service Related Problems -> cPanel related problems -> Click here to report if your cPanel is down category of your HelpDesk and provide us with the error messages in it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    9

    Smile Thanks

    I will check it out and let you know how it goes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    9

    Unhappy halfway there

    I have tried to get it working again. I have looked at the installer and it cannot detect apache as it uses $_SERVER['SERVER_SIGNATURE']. presumably this is disabled for security reasons so i have changed it to 'SERVER_SOFTWARE' and that fixes the webserver type detection.

    However the installer still gives the following error:

    "mod_rewrite enabled I can't tell whether mod_rewrite is running. You may need to configure a rewriting rule yourself."

    I might open a ticket if i can't figure it out, but I'll try my settings from Joomla that I know are working first.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I have tried numerous configurations, but silverstripe just refuses to work (even in my new account that I am trying to setup with nothing else on it). I guess this is silverstripes dark secret as they have totally shunned my forum post on their site regarding the problem!

  7. #7

    Default

    I can recommend you to open a ticket to our Support Team so we can look if there is anything we can do to help you. Giving you advices at that point will be useless as I don't even have the URL to your website and can't see the problem .. 'in action'.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanks Val I'll post a ticket.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi djhall,
    Did you solve this problem at the end? I really ned to know, becasuse I am having the same problem. I did send two tickets to the tech support, with reply back and forth... but it's still not solved.

    I'd really appreciate if you can give me an update on this.

    Thanks,
    liendi

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Silverstripe Users

    Quote Originally Posted by djhall View Post
    Hi,

    I was just wondering if anyone has got SilverStripe CMS ( www.silverstripe.com ) running on their siteground account?

    I have tried to install it but get mod_rewrite errors which is a bit wierd as my Joomla site is using mod_rewrite just fine.

    I have done a little googling and it may just be a problem in the latest release, but if anyone has tried it or is using it I would love to hear your experiences.

    Cheers,

    David

    www.robotification.com
    It's intresting to note that the question was never answered. Is anyone able to successfully install Silverstripe on Siteground? I'm having a heck of a problem getting around the" mod_rewrite doesn't appear to be working." issues.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I would also like to know if this ever was resolved!

  12. #12

    Default

    To be honest, I performed a few installations of SilverStripe myself for customers of ours, but I cannot recall how exactly I managed to work around the mod_rewrite issue.

    If any of you still has problems installing it, please submit a ticket, so we can aid with the instalation and then submit the slution here, so it can be finally publically available.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Ticket Submited

    Okay i submited a ticket. However I pulled my hair out trying to find a place to submit it. In the end I just used the most direct rout i could find which was reporting that cPanel was down. Couldn't find any other place to submit a ticket that didn't take me through some circular tutorials which had nothing to do with the issue! Perhaps I'm just blind ..... i searched the entire site and forums on how to submit the ticket . . . different then last time I submited one... anyway there you go.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I got a ticket back saying they had enabled AllowOverride for my account but I am still having the same problem. At this point I am too frustrated and I give up - I have some suspicion that there is some faulty coding in the latest releases of silver stripe that inst playing nicely with siteground's server configuration. Too bad becouse silverstripe looked like a good solution to what I was looking fore.

Similar Threads

  1. Script not running
    By jalle007 in forum Hosting Related Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2010, 08:19 AM
  2. Running a php script
    By phtj in forum Other Software and Applications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 02:12 PM
  3. Silverstripe install error
    By Centry01 in forum Other Software and Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 03:25 AM
  4. Anyone running oscMax?
    By pura_vida in forum Shopping Carts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 09:33 AM
  5. Help 2 Joomla's running
    By Spicoli in forum General Joomla Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-21-2008, 09:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •